Behold the Freshness:

Verizon CTO weighs in on Access Fees
- 2006-03-31

Kyle Smith's Love Monkey
- 2006-03-07

Franchise Agreement Controversy
- 2006-02-21

The End of Free Lunch?
- 2006-02-07

At&t/SBC, Verizon, BellSouth owe you $2000
- 2006-02-01

The Undocumented Blogger

kcXposed.com
See it!


Say it!


Buy it!

Subway, "Eat Fresh, You Fat Lazy American Pigs."

If you haven�t heard about it, you soon will. This morning it was brought to my attention that the Subway restaurant chain famous for its ad campaign featuring Jared, an overweight American who slimmed down eating nothing but Subway sandwiches, has been running Anti-American ads in their stores throughout Germany.

The first ad to run, pictured below, featured an overweight Statue of Liberty and a young man stuffing his face full of French fries. The advertising features the slogan, �Why are Americans so fat?� The headline used the word "Amis," which is considered a derogatory term for Americans.

Complaints from Americans prompted the Subway stores to pull the advertising. However, advertising depicting a massive flying cheeseburger smashing into what appears to be the two towers and Americans fleeing in terror, pictured below, is still in circulation.

Being the pro-American I am, I was very offended by the actions of one of our most successful American restaurant chains. I figured if the mainstream media isn't going to report what they are doing, I will. I grabbed my fedora, with my little paper with the word �press� scribed across it slid into the ribbon neatly wrapped around the bowl of the hat and I began making calls, six calls actually.

I contacted the following six Subway shops in Kansas City, MO and Three Rivers, TX. I asked them two simple questions. The first, �Have you heard of the anti-American advertising campaign, if so what are your thoughts?� The second, �What are your thoughts about a group of consumers calling for a world wide boycott of Subway restaurants?� Their responses are below.

504 Armour Rd
North Kansas City MO 64116
816-471-3727

When I asked to speak with the manager I was informed I already was doing so. He refused to give his name but said, �I have no specific comment because I haven't really heard about it, but we are a pretty overweight country."

1841 N W Vivion Rd
Riverside MO 64150
816-584-1069 - Katie 587-4680

Dana, the manager at the Riverside, MO Subway simply had no comment.

4315 NE Chouteau Trafficway
Choutean Crossings
Kansas City MO 64117
816-455-9559

Another manager refusing to be named stated, �If it�s true, I am appalled. It sounds horrible. I can't even imagine they would do something like that. I will have to check it out for myself." I gave her the web address of CNSNEWS.com, the first to break the story.

301 Harboth
Three Rivers TX 78071
361-786-3308

Denine, the manager of the Three Rivers, TX Subway location says, "I don�t know about it. No one has told me about it. If it is true, I don't appreciate it, I have two sons currently serving in Iraq and Afghanistan.�

612 Nw Englewood Rd
Englewood Plaza Ctr
Kansas City MO 64118
816-452-4002

The manager of the Englewood Plaza Subway in Kansas City, MO, Mike simply had no comment and hung up in the middle of the interview.

905 Broadway
Kansas City MO 64105
816-421-7827

The manager of the Broadway Subway in KC, MO refused to speak with me in regards to the controversial Advertising.

Americans across the country are demanding people standup and take notice of the exploitation of the tragedy of 9/11 and urging Subway to remove the offensive advertising immediately and issue a world wide apology.

23 people think they have something witty to say about this entry.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!